An Unemployed Godmother’s Love

I’m 20. Graduated from college last April and I still don’t have a job (aside from taking care of my grandmother and maintaining our home). In short, I don’t earn money at this time of my life. BUT… I am a godmother of I don’t know how many children, maybe 6 or 8? Yes, you heard me.

So, since the ‘ber’ months started, I felt so problematic and I was constantly thinking of how I will be able to give my godchildren what they deserve on Christmas Day. (My mother ordered me to save my job hunt this January) So I literally get my monthly ‘cute amount of money’ from my mother until now. And that ‘cute amount of money’ will not be enough to answer my ‘not so cute’ problem.

We Filipinos, as I noticed, are so fond of giving and receiving money enclosed in ampaos
(red small envelope); I’m not a fan of that. I always thought of it as a vulgar expression of laziness and lack of love. (pardon me ampao/money lovers)

Which landed me to the brilliant idea of giving them… (drum roll) HOME-MADE FOOD!

And what do kids love?
DOUGHNUTS! YAY! Who doesn’t love doughnuts?!

I didn’t have to post the recipe of this which I just got here-> http://www.instructables.com/id/Krispy-Kreme-Donut-Doughnut-Recipe/. Thank you scoochmaroo! 😉 (though I think these should be consumed right away) (and they are tastier when put in the fridge) (and better use milk powder instead of confectioner’s sugar for the glaze to achieve a milder flavor) Do whatcha want.

1
As I wait for my doughnut dough to rise, I called my cousin (Dada/Budadeng/Dar) to help me make some oatmeal cookies to munch on while I do the job.

2
But turns out we weren’t able to eat them so I saved them in a cookie jar for later consumption.

3
This is how our dining table looked like. Hahaha.

4
I made these boxes. Who could tell, right? My cousins thought I bought them but I actually got the resourceful side of me working. (Bought a cardboard and made them into boxes; cut a heart out and glued plastic cover to let the children take a peek on the contents, with love (it’s heart-shaped! harhar).

5(1)
Lookey, lookey! Don’t they look tasty?

6(1)
With LOVE.

12

These are also self-made ribbons. Again, why buy if I can make one?
I totally consider these gifts as a gift of pure love, dedication and THRIFT. Hahaha.

13

LONG LIVE THE CURSIVE!
14

In the end, our Christmas turned out just the way it should be
15

16

17

18

19

20
HOPE YOU HAD A MERRY CHRISTMAS TOO! 🙂

Leave a Reply

