Reinvented Butterscotch Bread Loaf

I am still in search of the best bread recipe right now, but so far this is the best bread recipe that I have, thanks to http://kristygourmet.blogspot.com/2011/05/homemade-gardenia-butterscotch-loaf.html. 😉

My family is a not so easy to please people when it comes to home-made food, especially when they knew that I don’t have much of an experience; but as time passes, they slowly seem to think that I could be the queen pastry chef even just inside our small house kingdom. They don’t have much of a choice by the way.

Added to my excitement in baking again is that we got a new oven which was recently bought for my mother’s birthday cake. It actually took me a few months frowning at the old oven whenever I pass on it and not being able to bake every time I go home for my weekend off at work.

The new one is relatively smaller than the first and I think is less efficient but it bakes well. That’s what’s important.

So here we go again on my ‘just started’ journey in baking.

DSC02878
Makes two biggie loaf breads

I have tried this recipe for two times already and made some modifications on the ingredients. Here’s what I came up with.

Ingredients
8 cups All Purpose Flour
8 tsp Yeast
10 tsp Sugar
8 tsp Salt
4 cups Evaporated milk and Water (Half and Half)
1 ¼ cups Butter
1 cup Butterscotch Chips

Procedure
Cut the butter in cubes and set aside
Combine flour and yeast in a large bowl and stir with fork, mix well, then add in sugar and salt.
Add the egg and stir in milk and water mixture to form a sticky dough.
Add in cubed butter and knead till the side of the bowl become clean (the dough is quite sticky to knead by hand and might just mess up your job so I use wooden ladle instead)
Knead until you get smooth dough and cover; let rise for at least one to two hours
Once the dough has risen, place the dough on a well -floured surface and knead for a few more minutes. Divide the dough in desired portions and let rest for 10 minutes
Roll out each dough and place in butterscotch chips (or milk/ chocolate chips, whatever you have) and fold in the dough
Place on slightly-oiled loaf pans and let rise again for another 30 minutes
—–
For added crisp on the top loaf, mix 1 tbsp. of evaporated milk and 1 egg in a small bowl and mix well
Use pastry brush to spread the milk and egg mixture on the top of the loaf

Bake in a preheated oven for about an hour or when the top of the bread is brown

DSC02884
And we get this soft moist butterscotchy yellow beauty

DSC02891
Brought some for my roommate when I get back to Manila and she even took it for her office snack

.AGO.

Leave a Reply

